God's Child, Our Joy

An adoptive family's journey in faith and life

The View Down Here : Sophie

2 Comments

There is a new woman in my life. I want to be with her, but Mom and Dad just won’t let me. They say that she isn’t mine, and ask me to leave her alone. I just can’t.

Her name is Sophie, and she is a giraffe.

One afternoon, a package arrived. After I had let everyone know that there was an intruder at our door (in case they missed the doorbell), they brought in the box and opened it. We sure seem to get lots of packages now, I don’t remember getting this much stuff when I was a puppy!

It was from our uncle in Phoenix, and in it was a new toy for Eva. Eva’s toys are off limit toys for me. That’s fine. Her toys tend to rattle and make noise or spontaneously break out into music (don’t get me started on the pink dog that randomly asks for a hug. I don’t hug.) My toys are stuffed or squeek, or both (the best of both worlds!)

They give Eva her toy, and she bites down on it. Squeak!

Wait, what was that?! A squeak? That must be my toy!

I go over to get my toy, and Mom and Dad tell me no. This is Eva’s toy.

What?! But it squeaks!

While Eva was playing with Sophie, I didn’t try to take Sophie. I did go over and lick the toy though. Just have to check if this toy of my dreams was actually real. Mom and dad would remind me that Sophie wasn’t mine, but I was entranced. I stayed close by.

I know Eva’s weakness. She wants to play with me so bad. So, I hatch a plan. I get close by, she drops Sophie to reach for me. With Sophie down, I goes for it. “No Quinton, that’s Eva’s!” Fine. New plan, I’ll walk around Eva and get Sophie from behind. “No Quinton”. Fine, I’ll wait ten seconds and try again. “No!”

This is the never ending battle. When they pick up Eva for feeding time or a diaper change, they grab Sophie as well. Every time they’ve forgot this, I was there by the time they had their backs turned. So now Sophie has her place on a high shelf.

So, I’m stuck down here.

Ugh, this view stinks. I wonder if there is a way to get a better view of her?

Yeah, this is good, but maybe just a bit higher.

Someday she will be mine.

2 thoughts on “The View Down Here : Sophie

  1. Let’s see if this reply works, since my VPN is not. I want to talk to you sometime about the more thought-provoking, possibly life-altering recent posts, but those are worthy of more than a tiredly-typed comment, so I’ll call sometime about them. In the meantime, I hope Quinton gets Sofie. : P Sorry, Eva, but you’ve taken so much from him. Can’t you let him have this simple love? Whether unrequited or not? What weiner dog hasn’t dreamed of a giraffe to love? Just think what a creature you’d have if you could combine her lofty neck with his lengthy torso! On a similar note (well, not really, but pet related) – after a few days of batting at my phone while my alarm was going off in the morning (my alarm is now a beautiful Chinese ballad – I listen to the whole song, then get up and turn off the alarm), Bashira successfully turned it off this morning. It was an accident, but I suspect she might get the hang of it and start turning my alarm off for me. She prefers the rattle of her toy mice to the soaring melody, apparently. She also might associate it with me going through my morning routine and leaving her alone for hours. Maybe if she can stop the music, I won’t go to work! >________________________________ > From: “God’s Child, Our Joy” >To: kbrownanne@yahoo.com >Sent: Monday, September 10, 2012 9:34 PM >Subject: [New post] The View Down Here : Sophie > > > WordPress.com >kleinadoption posted: “There is a new woman in my life. I want to be with her, but Mom and Dad just won’t let me. They say that she isn’t mine, and ask me to leave her alone. I just can’t. Her name is Sophie, and she is a giraffe. One afternoon, a package arrived. After I had” >

  2. Oh no! So sorry Quinton! We will get you an equally awesome, equally squeaky toy, and you will forget all about Sophie. We love the pics of Eva and Sophie, can’t wait to see her and you both next month!

Leave a Reply

