God's Child, Our Joy

An adoptive family's journey in faith and life

Eva the Diva

Leave a comment

When our social worker pays her monthly visit to us, we have to fill out a form for her to file with the state. One of the questions on the form asks what our daughter’s personality is. This can be quite interesting to determine when your child is a mere month old. We both came up with completely different answers. I said she was easy going, and mom said she was stubborn.

As the months progressed, I changed my vote to stubborn. When she wanted something, she wanted it right now. Whether it was a nap, a bottle, or attention… when she wanted it, you knew about it.

As it turns out, I was right both times. As long as she certain things when she wants, she’s an easy going baby. She’ll play by herself, she’ll switch between formulas with no problem, doesn’t mind a dirty diaper so much, and is generally happy*. However, when she’s not getting what she really wants, she’s a diva.

* With the general exception of when she is tired. Then all bets are off.

It’s our fault. We’ve let her know that she’s the center of the universe, which can’t be good. She’s had paparazzi follow her from birth (mostly daddy and grandpa), she goes through many wardrobe changes during the day (heavens, I’ve worn this shirt for 4 hours, someone might see me in it twice, must spit up on it now), and is quickly discovering that every song written has her name in it.

Of course that’s not entirely true, Mommy and Daddy may change a few of the lyrics along the way. Here’s the the diva’s playlist for your iPods:
The one song that encourages you to change the name is “The Name Game”. Here’s how it should go:

The Name Game

Eva Eva bo-beeva, banana-fana fo feeva Mee-Mi-mo-meeva, Eva!

Now, when taking notes for this post, I took voice notes on my iPhone. These are the different version that it heard me say, and tried to transcribe:


The Name Game (iPhone edition)

Eva Eva Bobey you’ve often Nana Nana Focis mean mind movies evil
Eva Eva appropriate method and then then full fever mean nine Eva Eva
Eva Eva Pool beef land then the full fee that mean mind me he
Leave that the feel Popey fast man man man mofo fees that mean 9D eve
Eve eve Bow beef banana bandanna so see for me my mow Neva Eva

(to test that my phone doesn’t just hate me, I had Steph try as well, this is what her’s said)

Eva Eva Bobey that banana fan of full Theva me my Momie via E via

(interesting that Momie came up on hers….)


Handel’s Lullaby (happy version)

Go to sleep
Little Eva
Go to sleep my dear
Go to sleep
And good night
I see you in the morning light

Handel’s Lullaby (3 AM version)

Go to sleep
Cranky Eva
Go to sleep right now
Go to sleep
You will find
I’m starting to lose my mind

Eva’s A Diva (Viva Las Vegas)

Bright blue eyes gonna set my soul
Gonna set my soul on fire
Got a whole lot of money that’s ready to burn
So get those clothes a buyer
There’s a thousand pretty dresses waitin out there
And they’re all ready for her to wear
And Im just the daddy with love to spare

Eva’s A Diva
Eva’s A Diva
Eva, Eva’s A Diva

Rocking Eva (Rocking Robin)

She rocks in the tree-top all a day long
Hoppin and a-boppin and a-singing the song
All the little girls on J-Girl St.
Love to hear our Eva goin’ tweet tweet tweet

Rockin Eva (tweet tweet tweet)
Rockin Eva (tweet tweet tweet)
Oh rockin’ Eva well you really gonna rock tonight

Moves like Eva (Moves like Jagger)

Take me by the hand
And I’ll know you
Kiss me ’til you love
And I’ll show you

All the moves like Eva
I’ve got the moves like Eva
I’ve got the moves like Eva

I don’t need to try to control you
Look into my eyes and I’ll own you

With them moves like Eva
I’ve got the moves like Eva
I’ve got the moves like Eva

Daddy’s Girls (Jessie’s Girl)

You know I wish that I was Daddy’s girl
I wish that I was Daddy’s girl
Where can I find Eva like that

Eva’s Way (My Way)

And now, the end is here
And so I close the final curtain
My girl, I’ll say it clear
I’ll state your case, of which, I’m certain
You’ve lived a day that’s full
You played each and ev’ry toy, yay
And more, much more than this, you did it Eva’s way

Leave a Reply

