God's Child, Our Joy

An adoptive family's journey in faith and life

Will.I.Have

2 Comments

One of the things that you gain when you become a parent is a stake in the future. That is, a future past your due date. Since Steph and I agreed that we should go at the same time, it really didn’t matter as much what happens after that. Now we have our little girl to think about, and it’s time that we took that last step into adulthood*. We need a will.

* For the record, these are the steps into adulthood : Get a job, live on your own (or with a significant other, frat house doesn’t count), save for your retirement, have a conversation where you say “these kids today”, had a moment where you can’t remember how old you are, make a will.

Please hold for a public service announcement

***************************
PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT
***************************

If you have a child, you need awill, but maybe not for the reason you think. Our main concern was where she would go if Steph and I were hit by the preverbrial bus. Did you know (at least here in Ohio) that if I died, the house would go to Steph AND Eva? Even split. If Steph sold the house (presumably to move in with her new hubbie Josh Groban), half of the earnings from the house would be Eva’s and would need to be put into a trust. Get a will so your wife will have less trouble moving in with Josh Groban.

***************************
END OF ANNOUNCEMENT
***************************

So making a will should be easy, right? First question, read to me on the drive home: How do you want your remains handled? (Carefully, I suppose.) Where do you want to be buried? Hmm. I lived in Cedar Falls for 23 years, became my own person in Omaha, and adopted Eva here in Ohio. What takes precedent? How will my opinion on this change in five years? This is tougher than I thought.

So, I did what I usually do with tough work. I put it on the kitchen table and forgot about it. That’s where the worksheet sat for a few weeks until Steph prodded me to finish my part. The rest of the worksheet wasn’t as tough, as long as you have an idea of who you’d like your child to go to, where your estate should go, and who you trust to handle it.

There was one thing that was kind of hard to choose. We have our estate going to our kid(s), and you can set it up so that they won’t get the estate until they reach a certain age. This is to prevent the child from not establishing themselves and just living off your estate. I’d like to think that I’d be responsible with that at 22, but 22 year old me probably would have bought a really nice TV and season tickets to something. So, what age is appropriate? We chose 30, but who knows.

Anyway, I recommend getting a will. We are.

2 thoughts on “Will.I.Have

  1. Wait, why are you trying to make it EASIER for Steph to have Josh Groban? Shouldn’t you let Eva make that more difficult for her? Slow her down? Force her to honor your memory while Josh woos her with beautiful serenades?

  2. We actually did a “pre-Little Man” will, in case something happened to me in the hospital or while we were in the midst of everything. Once he was born, we had another one done (professionally!).

    My sister-in-law had an absolute hissy fit when we told her that if something happens to us, Little Man goes with her brother and his wife instead of her and the money in the estate is to go to him and his needs (translation: we don’t trust her with our kid or our money).

    With that said, having been through the parental death, my mom and my grandparents both had it set up in a graduated scale: 50% at 25, another 25% at 30, and the rest at 35 (presumably 25%). That’s just what they did.

    And people think setting your child(ren) up for the future is stressful….

Leave a Reply

