God's Child, Our Joy

An adoptive family's journey in faith and life

The Meeting

Leave a comment

Well, this week has been quite the whirlwind.  We found out Tuesday evening that we had been chosen by potential birth parents.  It is now Sunday and the meeting is over.  We managed to keep ourselves busy between then and now, but for me, every waking moment still revolved around the simple fact that three months from now I could be a mother!

We spent our evenings this week thinking and talking about the small gift we would offer to them at the meeting, what we would want to ask, how we would answer certain questions they might ask us, etc.  I even reviewed our profile book before we left, almost like I was reviewing my resume before a big interview!  We were so nervous.  My stomach was churning and Scott felt week in the knees.  We want to impress them, yet we don’t want to talk too much.  We want to ask questions, but we don’t want to be nosy.  I want to be nice to their two year old daughter, but I don’t want to be too motherly.  The worst part was waiting those last 10 minutes before we met them.  It seemed like an eternity.  It reminded me of those last few moments right before I walked down the aisle at our wedding.

In the end, the meeting went fine, but no one knew quite what to say.  We managed to keep a conversation going, but it was basically chit-chat.  It wasn’t until the last 10 minutes or so that we started really discussing anything.  They did also express to us that they may be considering one other couple.  I welcome their honesty.  I guess it helps keep my emotions in check.  However, I feel no less nervous than before our meeting.  I feel about the same.  Hopefully we will hear from our agent soon and then know how to proceed.  Until then…I don’t think I’m getting anything worthwhile accomplished.

Note: Written Sunday, Sept. 18, 2011.  We received the news at about 7:15pm that evening that we had been chosen!

Leave a Reply

