God's Child, Our Joy

An adoptive family's journey in faith and life

Should I Just Wear A Sign?

1 Comment

Well, I am now less than two weeks away from going back to work.  I always dread going back, as I never feel summer has been long enough, and of course I always feel like I got nothing done.  Taking grad classes in the summer makes it even worse.  (I should graduate with my Master’s in December, though!)  However, this year is going to be a bit harder.  Why?  Well, you may think that it’s because my mind is elsewhere and I’m wishing I was home taking care of a baby instead of going back to work.  That thought is there, but the biggest reason I actually brought on myself.

On the last day of class in May, I informed each class of our upcoming adoption.  You may say, “What were you thinking?  Why did you do that?  You just jinxed yourself!”  Well, my reasoning was that if it did happen over the summer, I wouldn’t be starting back to work right away in the fall.  I didn’t want the students to think I abandoned them.  I also didn’t want them to be really confused that I “had” a baby when I was obviously not pregnant.  I also wanted to be able to discuss adoption with them before it happened.  I felt it was best to tell them.

While I still think that was the right decision, now I’m two weeks away from facing “the questions.”  As many of you know, young children don’t have the best sense of time.  Even though I told them that it may take a long time, some of them found me the next day after telling them and asked, “Do you have your baby yet?”  There was a part of me that wanted to say, “Um…didn’t I tell you that I wouldn’t be here if I did?”, but I know it was just an innocent question from a child.  For those of you that read Scott’s Waiting Guide a few days ago, don’t worry, those responses for the question, “Do you have your baby yet?” do not apply to this situation!

For those of you that don’t know my teaching situation, I teach general music in a K-8 Catholic school.  There are two sections of each grade, which means I will face the questioning 16 times the first week (if you take out the two kindergarten classes that don’t know about it).  As if that wasn’t enough, there is also a meet the teacher evening before school starts.  I assume I will face questioning at that time by not only students, but parents as well.  It’s not that I don’t know what to say, it’s that every time I have to say it I get more and more disappointed that it hasn’t happened yet.  We’ve only been waiting for 26 days, but when you have no information or feedback during your wait, it makes it a lot harder.  I can only hope and pray that I will face this questioning with patience and grace.

One thought on “Should I Just Wear A Sign?

  1. I think you should have your first group of students, whatever grade they are, help you make a sign for the other classes! That way, they’ll answer their own questions.
    Either that or bring Quinton with you to school to distract them. If he’s there, not a single student will remember to ask if you have a baby yet. : )
    Good luck! You’ll make it through!!

Leave a Reply

